To be honest, one of my biggest pet peeves is people who try to force religion on you. I don't know what it is, but apparently I must look like I need saving or something. The first time I took a taxi alone the cab driver spent the entire ride asking me about my religious views and trying to convince me that there is a God. I've had people come up to me on the street and try to tell me why I should be a part of their religion and there was a day at school about a month ago where within a span of 15 minutes two groups of people tried to tell me why I should convert to their religion.
I'm kind of a skeptic when it comes to religion. I can't say for sure that their is no God, but I personally don't believe that their is one. I suppose that would make me an Atheist-Agnostic? I just don't understand that if their is a God why would he/she need to be worshiped, why wouldn't having all of that power be enough? Then there is the amount of suffering that goes on in the world. Most recently, Japan. What could God possibly be punishing Japan for? What did they do to just relentlessly get beaten like that with earthquake after earthquake?
I have no problem with people being religious, in fact some of my best friends are Christians who go to church every Sunday. But, I feel that everyone is entitled to their own beliefs, and if I'm going to respect your beliefs, the least you can do is respect mine.
No comments:
Post a Comment