Today was terrible. Thursdays are one of my early days where I have an 8:30am class. So as if that wasn't bad enough, I woke up to see that it was snowing. It had only snowed like 2 inches but that is enough to wreak havoc on my city and cause chaos.
I got on the bus at 7:30am to go to school. (which is supposed to be simple enough, a direct single bus ride.) But no, when I get on the bus the bus driver informs me that this bus (because it is a long bus and cannot make it up the hill) will not be going to my school, instead it will detour to the skytrain station where a different (shorter) bus will come pick us up. Which would be perfectly fine most days. But today the road up the hill was covered in snow. This meant that I got to stand in a line waiting for a bus for an hour before they announced that it would be another hour or two before the road was clear and the buses would go to my school. Because it was already 8:30 and I was going to be late anyways I just went home. (I have since recieved an email telling me that my 8:30 tutorial was "spontaneously" cancelled because my TA couldn't make it to school either)
Naturally as soon as I got home, my cell rings. on the other end is my friend who informs me that buses are running. (So much for an hour this was 20mins later tops). At this point I was like forget my psych lecture I refuse. Plus I had received an email from my psych professor that said:
"I am on campus and according the school's website classes are "On Schedule" -- now how students are supposed to get here when the buses aren't running is anyone's guess. The lecture should be recorded as usual and available online."
I then decided that I had to go to my Kin tutorial because I had a quiz and we were going to be discussing an upcoming project which is worth 25% of our grade. So I once again ventured outside and caught the 10:20 bus. But not before some asshole splashed me with slush. Seriously, why must people speed in the snow?! After I got to school and stood under a hand drier in an attempt to dry off and warm up, I waited for my friend and we went to our tutorial.
When we got to our tutorial we received a less than warm welcome. We arrived at 11:29 and our tutorial is supposed to start at 11:30 so I'd say we were on time. (And people showed up way "later" than we did anyways.) Anyways, when we arrived our TA just glared at us and says "was the bus late?" At which point we informed her it was but I guess we'll just have to show up earlier next week.
After my Kin tutorial I came home. So I hopped on the bus gleeful that my day was over. But naturally my day was not about to get any better. I was almost home and I pulled the cord on the bus to signal to the driver that I would like to get off at the next stop. Naturally as we approached my stop I shuffled to the door and there I remained as I watched my stop go by through the window. The bus driver didn't stop so I had to get off at the next stop (which thankfully he did stop at) and walk home from there. Once I finally got home I put my stuff down, let my dog out,shoveled the driveway, had lunch and now I should be reading in preparation for my Education lecture tomorrow. Oh and by the way, the University website now tells us:
"crews are doing their best to clear the Burnaby campus walkways and parking lots this afternoon. But you'll find 12cm of snow between cars. Do walk and drive carefully."
I'm not impressed....I can't believe that 12cm of snow caused this much chaos.
No comments:
Post a Comment