Tuesday, September 20, 2011

The Procrastination Has Already Begun

I am currently trying to work on debate notes (this debate is tomorrow) for which I have a topic I personally don't agree with. My side of the debate is: "Third wave feminism is problematic because it assumes that individual self-expression and pop culture creates liberation for women. Furthermore, making feminism accessible to people who are not women ignores the important battles for equality left for women to fight." The really sad part is I am required to have 10 good points written down ready to hand in at the end of the debate. I currently have 7. Even worse is I have a 2 hour break between lecture and the tutorial at which point the debate will take place, and because I am a procrastinator by nature, I keep going "oh, I have 2 hours after lecture tomorrow to finish this." And currently some of my points aren't so much points as they are quotes that I feel I could use to build points around, so I suppose that's what part of my break tomorrow will be used for.


The debate is for my "Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies" class. Also known as "The class I have to read Twilight for." I'm still not looking forward to reading Twilight. I kept avoiding reading it because I've had so many people tell me that it's not well written (and what's the point in reading a book if it is not well written?) And I am also going to have to do a debate about Twilight after we read the book at the end of the semester. But I'm not going to worry about any of that until the time comes where I actually have to read the book/participate in the debate. I have other things to worry about in the meantime such as the midterm I have in 2 weeks, or the form I have due in a week which requires me to basically plan out the rest of my degree. 


Something else I realized today is that I can officially declare my major as soon as I finish this semester. I am taking the last class required before you can declare a psychology major. So that is somewhat exciting, because then it's official. But I really have to go back to working on my debate points, well either that or go to bed...

No comments:

Post a Comment