Today I went to work like I do nearly every Sunday. This Sunday was different however, I think that this is the busiest Sunday I've ever worked. There were people waiting outside the store before we opened and we had people in the store until we closed. During the 5 hours we were open there were really only two extremely memorable moments. Both of them involved me getting yelled at by a customer. The first was while I was working in shoes, the second was while I was working in ladies wear.
First incident:
I was cleaning up in between rushes when this slightly disheveled looking woman comes in and starts looking at the shoes. She then asked me if we had any "Hunter" brand boots. I replied that we didn't. She then asked me if we had any rubber boots at all and I said no we didn't. She then continues looking around and asks me if we have any riding boots. I asked her if she had a specific boot in mind and she doesn't answer me. We stand there in an awkward silence (she has her back to me) and all of the sudden she turns around and says to me in a harsh tone "Well, are you going to show me the riding boots you have?" Because I work in customer service and the customer is always right, I start to show her some of them and I hand her a catalogue to see if there was something specific she wanted. She finally shows me and I tell her we don't have that one in yet and she goes "I got this catalogue three weeks ago and you're telling me you don't even have everything that's in it yet?!" (Because apparently I control that) She then walks away from me muttering to herself about how "the store is going downhill" before walking away. Now what you need to understand is we were a different company a few years ago. That company went bankrupt. Now we're owned by a different company so things are different.
Second incident:
At this point I had gone for my break, come back and just relieved someone else who had been in ladies wear. So basically I'm working in ladies wear by myself. My coworker came back from her break and all of the sudden this lady sticks her head out of the change room and goes "Why is everyone ignoring me. No one said "hi" to me, no one's asking me if I need sizes...This happens every time I shop here. What? Do I look like I'm going to steal stuff? I have money, I'm going to pay for things...I want your names (she points and me and my co worker) so I can write a letter and complain." As we're trying to calm her down and explain that we're not intentionally ignoring her we're just busy, she just walks back into the change room. We let her cool off in the change room then she comes out and yells at us for ignoring her again. In the end my co-worker ended up helping her find a pair of jeans and she never asked for our names so we didn't ask her if she wanted them.
Finally the day was over and we got to close, finish cleaning out the change rooms and leave. After work the three of us went out for dinner and got to unwind. Basically the best part of my day was the end.
No comments:
Post a Comment