Thursday, September 29, 2011

Stress and Therapy

The other day I was sitting in lecture and I guess I brushed by hand against the side of my chair? But somehow I cut myself. So later when I got home I said to my younger sister "I cut myself today." To which she responded "You cut yourself? Like emo on purpose cut yourself? Or by accident?" She then went on to say "Well I guess I know what to get you for your birthday." So I made some sarcastic comment like "what razor blades?" To which she replied "No, therapy." Later I told my dad that I cut myself. Instead of asking me how I did it, he also assumed that I did it on purpose. I guess it's good to know that my family thinks that I'm inflicting injury on myself and I require therapy. So thanks family, I love you too. 


I suppose the part that's slightly ironic is that it's getting to the point in the semester where everything starts to pick up. I had an in class paper to write today, I have a midterm coming up on Tuesday and I have an essay proposal along with an annotated bibliography due on Wednesday. Plus I may have just decided to do a semester abroad and that requires me doing more research as well as saving money and getting my GPA up. Bring on the stress...

Sunday, September 25, 2011

INSANE Sunday!

Today I went to work like I do nearly every Sunday. This Sunday was different however, I think that this is the busiest Sunday I've ever worked. There were people waiting outside the store before we opened and we had people in the store until we closed. During the 5 hours we were open there were really only two extremely memorable moments. Both of them involved me getting yelled at by a customer. The first was while I was working in shoes, the second was while I was working in ladies wear. 


First incident:
I was cleaning up in between rushes when this slightly disheveled looking woman comes in and starts looking at the shoes. She then asked me if we had any "Hunter" brand boots. I replied that we didn't. She then asked me if we had any rubber boots at all and I said no we didn't. She then continues looking around and asks me if we have any riding boots. I asked her if she had a specific boot in mind and she doesn't answer me. We stand there in an awkward silence (she has her back to me) and all of the sudden she turns around and says to me in a harsh tone "Well, are you going to show me the riding boots you have?" Because I work in customer service and the customer is always right, I start to show her some of them and I hand her a catalogue to see if there was something specific she wanted. She finally shows me and I tell her we don't have that one in yet and she goes "I got this catalogue three weeks ago and you're telling me you don't even have everything that's in it yet?!" (Because apparently I control that) She then walks away from me muttering to herself about how "the store is going downhill" before walking away. Now what you need to understand is we were a different company a few years ago. That company went bankrupt. Now we're owned by a different company so things are different. 


Second incident:
At this point I had gone for my break, come back and just relieved someone else who had been in ladies wear. So basically I'm working in ladies wear by myself. My coworker came back from her break and all of the sudden this lady sticks her head out of the change room and goes "Why is everyone ignoring me. No one said "hi" to me, no one's asking me if I need sizes...This happens every time I shop here. What? Do I look like I'm going to steal stuff? I have money, I'm going to pay for things...I want your names (she points and me and my co worker) so I can write a letter and complain." As we're trying to calm her down and explain that we're not intentionally ignoring her we're just busy, she just walks back into the change room. We let her cool off in the change room then she comes out and yells at us for ignoring her again. In the end my co-worker ended up helping her find a pair of jeans and she never asked for our names so we didn't ask her if she wanted them. 


Finally the day was over and we got to close, finish cleaning out the change rooms and leave. After work the three of us went out for dinner and got to unwind. Basically the best part of my day was the end.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

The Procrastination Has Already Begun

I am currently trying to work on debate notes (this debate is tomorrow) for which I have a topic I personally don't agree with. My side of the debate is: "Third wave feminism is problematic because it assumes that individual self-expression and pop culture creates liberation for women. Furthermore, making feminism accessible to people who are not women ignores the important battles for equality left for women to fight." The really sad part is I am required to have 10 good points written down ready to hand in at the end of the debate. I currently have 7. Even worse is I have a 2 hour break between lecture and the tutorial at which point the debate will take place, and because I am a procrastinator by nature, I keep going "oh, I have 2 hours after lecture tomorrow to finish this." And currently some of my points aren't so much points as they are quotes that I feel I could use to build points around, so I suppose that's what part of my break tomorrow will be used for.


The debate is for my "Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies" class. Also known as "The class I have to read Twilight for." I'm still not looking forward to reading Twilight. I kept avoiding reading it because I've had so many people tell me that it's not well written (and what's the point in reading a book if it is not well written?) And I am also going to have to do a debate about Twilight after we read the book at the end of the semester. But I'm not going to worry about any of that until the time comes where I actually have to read the book/participate in the debate. I have other things to worry about in the meantime such as the midterm I have in 2 weeks, or the form I have due in a week which requires me to basically plan out the rest of my degree. 


Something else I realized today is that I can officially declare my major as soon as I finish this semester. I am taking the last class required before you can declare a psychology major. So that is somewhat exciting, because then it's official. But I really have to go back to working on my debate points, well either that or go to bed...

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Taylor Swift and INFJ

Sunday night I went to a concert with my sister. Although the artist is slightly irrelevant I shall share it with you anyways. We went to a Taylor Swift concert. Now, my sister and I don't get along. To provide context I'm going to share with you a part of a conversation I overheard her having before we left (and this was completely by accident). I think she was on the phone but who she was talking to is also irrelevant, either way I only heard her side of the conversation.

Her: "I'm going the Taylor Swift concert with Erica tonight"
Person on the phone: *I can only assume made some comment about having fun*
Her: "Ya, it should be fun unless she annoys me"

And that really irritated me. I hadn't done anything to her at that point but she already was counting on the fact that somehow I was going to ruin her night. Overall the concert was fantastic, one of the best I've been to in fact. But I think that the one comment my sister made before we left really set the tone for the night. It probably would have been different if I hadn't heard her, but I feel like it darkened the mood a little. This is probably also partially my fault. She was probably just talking and not expecting to be overheard (and in my defense I really wasn't trying to hear her) but our personalities are all slightly different and we interpret things differently. I'm a little bit over sensitive and I accept that.

In fact, today was part of "Clubs Days" at school. While walking around from booth to booth I found a few clubs to join like the Psych Student Union, the Skeptics Society, a DFTBA club and even an Introvert Society. (I think I joined the last one more out of the fact that I found the concept of an Introvert Society ironic). But in order to join the Introvert Society you had to do a personality test. More specifically the Briggs Myers personality test. According to said test I am INFJ (which I did know before hand).

Based on this my personality (likewise the personality of any INFJ individual) is "traditional, original and sensitive. Tend to stick to things until they are done. Extremely intuitive about people and concerned for their feelings. Well-developed value systems which they strictly adhere to. Well-respected for their perseverance in doing the right thing. Likely to be individualistic, rather than leading or following."

I do agree with some of that, mainly the sensitive and concerned for people's feelings. I'll put other people first to a fault. I'm kind of a doormat like that. Anyways I have class tomorrow and should be sleeping or studying.

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Creepy Conversations on Public Transit

Now that I've just wrapped up my first week of a new semester, so far so good. I still haven't had one of my classes yet because Monday was the holiday and I'm not sure what to expect. I'm really enjoying my classes so far. (I'm taking an introduction to abnormal psychology class, an introduction to developmental psychology class, a gender, sexuality and woman's studies class (I have to read Twilight for this class and I'm not impressed). and the class that I haven't had yet is introduction to data analysis in psychology, so basically a psychology stats type course). Now all I have to do is reading. So now that you're up to speed on my current life activities (working which is still nothing too exciting and school) we're brought to today. 


And today I met yet another creepy guy on public transit. I was on my way to work this morning, and all of the sudden this guy walks up to me. Our conversation went as follows:


Him: "wow, how tall are you?"
Me: *thinking oh, geez, here we go...."like 6'2"..."
Him: "wow, can I like have your autograph or something?"
Me: *stares at him blankly*
Him: "I'm not trying to creep you out or anything, I've just never met a woman as tall as you or as pretty as you, are you single?"
Me: "yes..."
Him: "Wow, that's hard to believe. Do you do modeling?"
Me: "No."
Him: "Oh, well you should consider it. My name's Jessie, do you want to be friends? I could give you my phone number and then you could text me and then I could have your phone number."
Me: "umm... sorry but no thanks....."


At which point the conversation ended and he walked away. I swear I must have some sort of beacon which goes "HEY CREEPY PEOPLE! COME TALK TO ME!!" Because I get a lot of strange people that talk to me. For example, there was one homeless guy last week who tried to talk to me. He had a huge grin on his face and a sign that said "smile if you masturbate." We'll see what next week brings.