Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2

I finally got to go see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 today. So if you haven't seen it yet and want to draw your own conclusions without having your mind contaminated by the opinions of others you may want to stop reading now. 


So obviously it wasn't 100% accurate and true to the book, but that is to be expected. But I enjoyed it. It's pretty high up in the rankings of the movies for me. I enjoyed basically all of the Harry Potter movies with the only exception to that being Prisoner of Azkaban. But because I don't want to be one of those people who ruins movies, I'm not going to go into details of what I liked about it as far as plot goes. I did think that the special effects were very well done though. Something else I will say is that I found myself very close to tears a few times. Which goes to show that it was well acted and that my post-potter depression may be kicking in a little. Which is something I feel I'm entitled to because I know I'm not going to go crazy overboard with it and it was something I had for basically all of my childhood. 


While I am addressing my opinions of things I'm going to switch topics here and let it be known that the "new" old spice commercials are ridiculous. I hate Fabio as the new old spice guy. I did watch some of the "Mano a Mano in el bano." And I say some because I couldn't sit through the Fabio parts, I only really watched the "old, Old Spice guy" (Isaiah Mustafa) responses. So if anyone from Old Spice reads this please keep Isaiah Mustafa as the Old Spice Guy and stop with this Fabio ridiculousness. 

Friday, July 22, 2011

Stopping Birds in Their Tracks, Mosquitoes and Music Videos

So before I begin telling you about the Mariana's Trench video shoot I was at the other day, I'm going to tell you about something I forgot to mention like a week ago.


As I left for that party at my friend's house (which I walked to) I noticed there was a bird on the other side of the road. As I left my lawn, it flew away...Right into my neighbor's window. Literally "BAM" into the window then it fell straight to the ground. Don't worry it did get up, although I didn't see it fly away... But apparently I'm just that good looking, I stop birds. 


But now onto the video shoot. Like pretty much every video shoot this one was running late. My group was supposed to be there at 5pm, so my friend and I were there at 5pm, and there were still people from the first group there, some of which didn't leave until after 6pm. The first group was supposed to be there at 6am that morning. Meaning they had been there for 12 hours. So after my friend and I killed time for like 5 and a half hours, some of the people who were in the scene right before ours started coming out. We were excited because we figure we'd get to go in soon (the holding area was outside, it was getting dark, raining and there were mosquitoes...) I talked to one of the girls as she was leaving and she told me that they weren't done, in fact the only reason she was leaving was because she got kicked out because there were too many people. Which really sucked because she had waited for HOURS and then nothing. At that point because it was now 10:30pm, my friend and I were both taking public transit home (which stops running at around 1am) and if they still hadn't started with our group yet there was no way of knowing how long it would take for us to get started and finished, plus we both had work the following morning. It was that point where we decided to leave and head to Denny's for an ice cream sundae before heading home. So the irony here is that I might be in a behind the scenes video, but not the actual music video... In the end all I got for my near 6 hour wait was a guitar pick and 3 mosquito bites (one of which is located in an extremely awkward place)


Now I have to go attempt to work on my 10 page research paper which is due in a week and a half...School is almost over until September!! 

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Amazing News!

Lately my life has been extremely lame. Just more of the norm. Work and school. I have yet to see Harry Potter. I really want to go, but at the same time I'm reluctant. Once I see it, that will be the end. The phenomenon that has been a huge part of my life for the majority of my life will officially be over.

But taking a break from my impending "post-Potter depression" and jumping back to reality...My prof gave us another assignment last week (which is due on Tuesday and after serious neglect, still hasn't been started). I planned to sit down and get a good start on it tonight, but naturally I checked my email first. There in my inbox was an email which just made my day, and quite possibly my life.

I'M GOING TO BE IN THE NEWEST MARIANA'S TRENCH MUSIC VIDEO!! 

Excuse me while I go run around in circles screaming for joy... This latest video is going to be for the song "Haven't Had Enough." I'm so stoked! Wednesday is going to rock!! 

Sadly now I have to seriously try to go focus on my homework, which probably no, definitely won't happen tonight...

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Who Invited All The Crazies to My Work?

Lately work has been full of crazies. I've been yelled at like 5 times in the past few days over the fact that my store doesn't have a public washroom. One lady gave me an entire spiel about how she had driven for 3 hours and she couldn't even use the bathroom. I also got a lot of frustrated customers because we're in the middle of a sale so sizes are at a premium. But today takes the cake. There were two Asian men that came in. They walk around for a second before coming over to the counter. The one man begins to speak loudly in a language that I can't understand and make gestures with his hand. Essentially he takes one palm lays it out flat and traces around it with his finger. I have no idea what he wanted. He then looks at me like I'm insane and walks out of the store with his friend in tow. 


Basically I'm doing the usual for the moment, spending more time than I'd like to at work and the rest of the time at school. 

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Crazy Customers

I could really use a vacation. Friday was Canada day, but I still had to work. There was one woman who came into the store on Canada day and she was looking for some shoes. She had me pull out 6 pairs of shoes. Which is fine but as I was coming back out with the shoes she was trying on one pair from the shelf and she pulled so hard on a leather tassel that it came off. She broke a shoe and basically went "I broke your shoe, oops, haha." I really wanted to make her buy them at that point and she really began to irk me. Then, as I put them away after she left (she bought 1 pair) I realized that she hadn't even bothered trying on 3 of the ones she had me bring out. Then she came back in today. She wanted to return the shoes she bought on Friday claiming that "they don't stay on her feet." and she "walks right out of them." Because we're in the middle of a big sale and nearly everything is on sale (including the shoes she purchased) I told her that she couldn't return them because they were final sale. I'm pretty sure that that is a common thing. Sale items are final sale in most stores. At which point she began to argue with me claiming that she was never told that they were final sale even though it's on a sign beside the cash register, it's on the receipt and I'm pretty sure I told her when I sold her the shoes on Friday. Eventually she demanded to speak to my manager (there is no management there on Sunday so I grabbed my co-worker who's been with the company for 6 years and she's the closest thing I had to a manager today) and because the customer is always right, we exchanged the shoes for a different pair. 


At work there is also this dress from last year on clearance I think it's around $40 now it's basically a "flapper girl" dress. I think it would be perfect for Halloween but I'm not sure if I want to pay $40 for a dress that I'd only wear for Halloween. I would also need shoes and accessories to go with it. Speaking of shoes I tried on a pair of ridiculous heels that I can't walk in and that make me like 6'6". They are some pretty sexy heels, but I would probably kill myself trying to walk in them. 


The past few nights, well really last night and tonight. My little sister has been so hyper and been driving everyone crazy. To deal with this issue I have began taking her for walks. My sister is in high school yet I have to take her for walks as if she's a puppy. I suppose in the long run it's good for me too, I'm sorely out of shape and a little bit of exercise wouldn't hurt me.


I think that because I'm starting to feel overworked and burnt out a little bit I have vacations on the brain. I just decided that I want to save up some money (well more like A LOT of money) and go to Europe. I told my friend about this and said we should  both do it and she said "deal, we'll go in 5 years." Fair enough. It will probably take me that long to save up the cash and get the time, plus I should be finished my BA by then. So it sounds great. Although who knows what's really going to happen. Regardless I plan to start saving and either way I'll end up with a nice little nest egg that I can either use to pay for my masters, or a vacation or some unforeseen event.