Today was a day where I did a lot of thinking (uh oh....)
I started off my day with an 8:30 nutrition lecture all about eating disorders, and moved onto a psych lecture about psychological disorders...These lectures basically led me to the conclusion that the media is terrible. Today was full of learning fabulous things like 95% of women would rather get hit by a truck and die than be fat. Society and the media have seriously skewed our perception of "normal." No one is as tiny as all of the models on television and in magazines it's an unattainable, unrealistic standard. (These models are like 25% thinner than the average woman). So much for a role model. I learned other great stats like more girls/women in the US have anorexia than breast cancer. If we could get people to love themselves than there would be so many less sick people. What really needs to happen is as a society we need to stop focusing in on weight and focus on healthy. And remember what's healthy varies for each individual. Why is it so impossible for us to just love ourselves?
We all feel alone. Most often temporarily, but it still happens. Just like every other feeling we aren't alone in feeling this. So why is it then, that we feel so alone and like no one understands us/what we're going through/feeling?
I was also good today though. After procrastinating for like 4 hours (I get home at like noon on Tuesdays so it's not a big deal) I did some reading/studying for my upcoming midterm. The fact that this midterm isn't for another two weeks makes it all the better because I am actually not procrastinating! I'm studying WAY in advance. Hopefully it pays off.
No comments:
Post a Comment