Monday, August 15, 2011

It Begins With Ice Cream and Ends With Injury.

Today started off so well. I went to work as normal and during my coffee break I was given a free ice cream bar. And not just any ice cream bar, a good quality delicious Hagen Daz ice cream bar. After that things went downhill. After my coffee break I was working on unpacking some boxes and someone wanted to buy something. I went to go and ring her through and our conversation essentially went like this:

Me: "So you found something that worked for you?"
Lady: "Yes, is it ok if I pay in American cash?"
Me: "Yes."
Lady: "So if I'm paying in American money, I want to pay the American price."
*at this point is is important to know that our price tags show the price in Euros, Pounds, and in Canadian and American dollars. On this item the U.S. price was $79.00 and the Canadian price was $85.00, so this was really over $6.00*
Me: "I'm sorry but because you are in Canada you will be charged the Canadian price regardless of the currency you pay with. Part of the problem is that it costs more to ship things into Canada and the price on the tag reflects when the stock was purchased, not the current exchange rates."
Lady: "So I can't have the American price? You guys shouldn't advertise it if I can't choose which one I pay."
Me: "Unfortunately, I'm not allowed to change it and I don't make the rules. I'm sorry."
Lady: "Well you should talk to your supervisor because, that's false advertisement, and it's illegal."

She then paid with a credit card and that was the end of it.

This is actually slightly embarrassing. I was in the stock room putting away stock and in order to do that I had to use a step ladder. While I was on the step ladder (it's literally 2 steps) I turned and because of my crappy knee I guess I turned wrong and my knee gave out on me, which resulted in me falling off the ladder. So now my knee and my wrist are sore. I'm aware that I'm a klutz, but this one wasn't really my fault.

Trying to keep my mind on the positives of life. I'm excited because I get to go see Mama Mia! tomorrow. First I have to spend my morning studying, but I get to go out for dinner then go see the show. Which gives me one thing to look forward to before my final on Friday.

No comments:

Post a Comment