Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Sometimes Life Gets in the Way

I started off my day today by writing a midterm. I honestly have no idea how that went, I'm kind of afraid to get it back in fact. But luckily when I got home John Green was live on Youtube so that was great for my mood. During this live broadcast he was reading the first chapter of his new book. Because I missed the beginning I tuned in about 3/4 of the way through and was thoroughly confused at first. But confusion quickly subsided into delight and now I am really excited for this book. The excitement quickly turned into a full out nerdgasm when he announced that if you pre-order the book called "The Fault in Our Stars" you will receive a signed copy. I just about had a heart attack on the spot and immediately pre-ordered the book. The excitement began to ware off and I realized that this book isn't actually going to be released until next year. May according to Amazon, and possibly March or April according to John Green. So that's a little bit sad, however, I have a spontaneous book delivery to look forward to in the first half of next year now. 

After the joy of pre-ordering the book I got a call from my dad telling me that his company needs a receptionist for August. This is something I've done for them in the past and other than having to get up at the crack of dawn it's not too bad. They pay better than my current job but I think that I'm going to have to turn it down for that reason. I have a current job. Even though I don't earn as much as I did working as a receptionist, I think in the long run it's probably smarter to keep the job in which you have the opportunity to keep instead of taking a job for the money that you will only have for a month. 

I finished off my day by going to my old middle school and meeting up with two of my friends and former high school teammates to play some basketball. I can't believe how much I miss it. There are aspects of playing that I definitely don't miss at all, but overall I really do miss playing. We decided that we need to get the whole team together at some point but there is no guarantee of that happening because everyone is so busy working/vacationing/getting ready for school. Sometimes life just gets in the way. 

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Wrocking On!

On Thursday I went to my first "wrock" (or wizard rock) show at the library. For those who don't know what wizard rock/wrock is, it's music about Harry Potter. The band at the show I went to was Harry and the Potters, and they did not disappoint, I had a lot of fun at the show with some fellow nerdfighters. That was probably the highlight of my week. Because it was my first "wrock" experience, I wasn't really sure what to expect. But I really enjoyed it and there was a lot of humor in the music. There were also a few really bad jokes when a cable needed to be replaced. The jokes were really nerdy and one of the best parts about the crowd was that they were all nerdy enough to understand the jokes. I love nerds. 


At work we're getting ready for our summer sale, so because it hasn't been busy lately and Sundays aren't usually busy most of today was supposed to be spent sticking price stickers on shoe boxes. But because we actually had something that we were supposed to get done today, it was busy. Most of the boxes have yet to be stickered and the sale starts tomorrow. Luckily I have tomorrow off to cram for Tuesday's midterm but I feel bad for my co-workers for all the work that they're going to have to do.


Today at work there was this one customer who was really frustrating. There was a girl with her mom and her aunt (?). The girl was looking for shoes for some occasion and was trying on shoes. Because it's my job I brought her the shoes she was asking for and one of the first pairs she tried on was a size11 and it fit her perfectly. Then her aunt(?) goes "I don't know...I think you should try the 12." So I go and get it knowing that it's know going to fit her. And shockingly it's too big for her. Meaning there's just one more shoe I'm going to have to put away later. After she did this with about 5 more pairs of shoes and I had a pile of about 12 shoe boxes in the back that needed to be put back together again and put away she finally decided on buying 1 pair of shoes and ordering in another pair from another store. The other pair that we are ordering in may or may not get here for when she needs them because apparently she needs the shoes for Friday. The fact that you would leave it that late to shop for the shoes is mind boggling to me. 


Then my favourite customer of the day (literally) was this transgender individual. (I'm never sure what gender to call them and I don't want to offend anyone so we're going to call him/her K). The two of us got along great and there were a lot of laughs. Which was probably why K was my favourite. K was also the last customer of the day and K's sense of humor and personality was a nice change from some of the ruder customer's I'd dealt with earlier that day. 

Friday, June 24, 2011

Contradictory Horoscopes

So it's been a while since I posted anything, and that's been because I've been super busy. Sadly it's not with anything exciting just more work and school. 


Today at work a girl who I used to play basketball against came in. She still plays, in fact she got a scholarship to a school in Dallas for it. Speaking of work, I've found that since I've started working there I've come to embrace my height a lot more and I've even started to consider wearing heels. *insert shocked face here* I mean I work at a store called "Long Tall Sally." How ridiculous would it be to work at a store that is essentially a specialty store for tall women if I hated being tall?


Let's see is there anything exciting coming up in my life at all....Midterm Tuesday, Hanging out with my friend on Thursday, work, school.... So other than hanging out with my friend (we're supposed to go have a picnic unless it rains), nothing too exciting is happening. I should really be sleeping, or studying if I'm not going to sleep. In fact my horoscope today (well one of them) told me that I should study and save my money. At work we all bring in newspapers, resulting in a big pile of newspapers everyday so I opened another one to see what that one said, and it told me to stop being boring and do something spontaneous. So those two pretty much contradicted each other dramatically. 

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Stanley Cup Fever

So tonight my hockey team (the Vancouver Canucks) were beaten out by the Boston Bruins for the Stanley Cup. As disappointing as the loss was, I have to give credit where credit is due and say that Tim Thomas is a fantastic goalie and he deserved the MVP for his play throughout the series. What was more disappointing than the loss however is how the fans reacted. Riots broke out downtown just like 17 years ago when this happened the last time. However last time there were less people so I'm afraid of how much damage is going to be caused. 


I'm also wondering if I'm going to have work tomorrow or as a friend pointed out to me, more specifically a place of work tomorrow. I'm enjoying my job so I'm going to be frustrated if my place of work does get the windows smashed in or anything. However if I didn't have work tomorrow it would give me more time to work on my project proposal for my psychology class which is due on Wednesday and still needs A LOT of work. Not that I'm wishing for bad things to happen because I'm not, I'm just trying to look for positives in a hypothetically bad situation. 


On another tangent, I'm sick. As far as sickness is concerned I suppose this isn't too bad. I've been a lot sicker and everyone I've been around that has been sick before I got sick had it much worse with ailments spanning bronchitis and chest infections to allergies and the common cold. I believe I just have a cold and one that really isn't too bad at that. It started off with a sore throat (which wasn't even that bad), woke up the next day with a bit of a cough (which is basically completely gone now) and I'm now at the stage of congestion. Hopefully I'll wake up tomorrow feeling even better than I did today because I seem to be on the road to recovery. 

Friday, June 10, 2011

One Wicked Night

So Wicked was absolutely AMAZING! The only thing that would have made it better was if it had been the original Broadway cast, but that's probably asking too much. So my Wednesday night was pretty awesome. I may have developed a slight addiction to watching live musicals though. Mama Mia! is coming in August and now I really want to go to that too. Oh well at least this addiction is healthier and probably less expensive than drugs. 


Switching topics...Last night was pretty terrible (well I guess it all started early this morning). This morning at 2:00am I woke up feeling nauseous and proceeded to toss and turn before running to the bathroom to throw-up. So today got off to a great start. Roughly 5 hours later it was time to get up to get ready for work. After downing some Pepto before I left I headed to the bus stop. The bus then decided to be 5 minutes late and be full of children. I felt like I was taking a school bus to work. Then an old guy gets on the bus, out of courtesy you might have thought that even ONE of those kids would have offered him their seat considering they are taking up like 98% of the bus. But no, one did offer him a seat like 5 stops later but that's really not the point. 


Now at this point I'm running late and I get to the first transfer point on my ride to work. This is where some guy steps on my foot and didn't apologize. Not cool. Typical day for me I guess. I did make it to work with about 4 minutes to spare, so I wasn't late. The day then proceeded with customers who wandered in and out of the store and either had the disposition of very nice/friendly/pleasant or extremely grouchy and rude. One lady came into the store walked around picked out all these things she wanted to try on and got to the dressing room to realize after trying on 1 thing that she had picked out the wrong size in absolutely everything. Her solution was to hand me two armfuls of clothing and request that I run around the store trying to find her the correct size in everything she had picked out. (I enlisted the help of a coworker on that one). I was also promised that if I worked instead of taking my afternoon coffee break I could leave 15 minutes early to go home and try to catch more of the hockey game. at 5:21 (we close at 5:30) it was realized that she forgot to tell me to leave. So I got no break and only got to leave 5 minutes early. But on a positive note my team won the hockey game and they are now 1 win away from the Stanley Cup! So that's exciting.  Oh and I think I've been infected with whatever it was that my sisters had, some cold/flu type thing. 

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Maybe My Dreams Are Trying To Tell Me Something?

I'm going to see Wicked tomorrow night with 5 of my friends and I'm ridiculously excited! But there will be more on that in the next few days after I actually go and see it. 


But the real topic of today's post is my dreams. Not dreams in the sense of ambitions and hopes for the future but dreams as in that thing you do while you're sleeping. The last few nights all of my dreams have had a common theme, and I'm wondering if my subconscious is trying to tell me something. Lately the common dream theme seems to be some form of problem and then a guy comes to rescue me. The common fairy tale storyline. They aren't dramatic, graceful or even that interesting for the most part but there seems to be an underlying theme. 


One such dream involved me in a cooking competition in which I was literally given a gigantic plate of assorted meats to cook. When everything began burning (which is weird because I'm not actually a terrible cook) and I was walking away in defeat this really cute guy came over to help out and calm me down. Then last night's dream involved work drama and a different cute guy (who was apparently my boyfriend?) coming in and saving me from doing things I would have regretted and calming me down. 


What I'm getting from this is a few things. Possibly including (but not limited to): 

  1. I get angry/frustrated/upset too easily
  2. I need a boyfriend
  3. I'm reading too much into this because I'm an intended Psych major
  4. Something is bothering me
  5. Disney movies from my childhood have screwed me for life

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Time for Reflection

I am still super busy with work and school and having no life, (I do get a brief break on Wednesday to have a life because I'm going to see Wicked with my friends, I'm SO EXCITED!) but today I somehow found some time to think. 


While I thought, I was remembering back in middle school, grade 8 I think when we were asked something along the lines of what would we like out of life. I remember that I answered with "I want to be able to look back on my life with no regrets." And I've already screwed that up. I can think of regrets about the roads not taken and relationships with people. I've failed myself already. Maybe I was naive, or overambitious, either way the fact remains that I'm not going to be able to look back on my life with no regrets unless I manage to accept things the way they are and accept the possibility that maybe things happened the way they did for a reason and that I really did make the right choice even if it doesn't feel like I did.  


I know that at least for the rest of this month I'm going to be extremely busy between school and work especially because my manager is going away to London for business at the end of this week and she'll be gone for a week. I know that this is the reason why she was so reluctant to give me time off, but I need to study for my midterm. She does need to hire someone else because I have another co-worker who was hired to work 4 days a week and is currently working 5 days a week. 


Thinking about the positives in my life right now, my hockey team is 2 wins away from bringing home the Stanley Cup, I'm going to have an amazing time on Wednesday night when I go see Wicked with 5 of my friends, I have Thursday off (even if I do have to use it to study and go to the dentist) and the weather is finally starting to get nice (even if I don't get to enjoy it because I'm working/going to school everyday).